Wheat Belly Diet Update

Well, it’s been 2 months since I started living wheat free following the advice of Wheat Belly author Dr. William Davis. I am amazed at how easy it has been for me. I anticipated huge regrets when I saw wheat laden goodies, but that has not happened. I even spent 2 weeks away from the safety of home, on vacation one week at the Clearing in Door County where delicious home made bread is de rigeur, and another week with friends at a vacation home where each night different cooks showcased their specialties. Fortunately for me, I am retired and was able to cook and bake what I could eat — using special wheat-free breads, muffins, pizza dough, and quiches to occasionally supplement  my new diet of healthy foods.

The result thus far. I was able to literally cut my insulin by half, and have lost 16 lbs.  My endocrinologist was amazed and pleased. In addition, I am feeling much better generally. To me this has been a win-win, and I am committed to at least another 6 weeks.

As you can imagine, the Grain Foundation is not happy with Dr. Davis’ book. I am much more aware of the number of other obese people I see, and their proclivity to eat carb filled and wheat laden foods. And the government and health care professionals continue to push eating “whole wheat” everywhere you look. But contemporary wheat is NOT the wheat in the bible, is not the wheat our ancestors ate and it is NOT good for us.

For me I’ll take the Shrimp and Scallop Scampi I am fixing this evening with a side of lucious veggies and perhaps some spaghetti squash linguine.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. How To Diet
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 09:13:21

    Wonderful read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing a minor analysis on that. Together with he actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch!

    Reply

  2. Jane Nordmeyer
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 21:10:34

    Interesting idea this wheat diet, I know I am addicted to whole wheat product…could be why I am not losing anything despite lots of exercise. Great job. This mean all white breads as well I suppose Hope we see ya all sooon Jane

    Reply

    • RickiN
      Oct 14, 2011 @ 23:08:52

      Yes it means anything with wheat in it…crackers, noodles, bagels, cakes, cookies, rolls etc.  quit e a challenge, but without the carb-laden wheat, I find I’m not hungry…really don’t have those cravings.  Most restaurants have gluten free menus and there are lots of good food to eat.

      I use almond flour, flaxs eed meal, coconut flour, etc for occasional treats and to brown meats, etc.  I feel a lot better, and even though I’m not losing as much weight as I want, my blood sugar readings are so much better, that I hope to get off insulin before long. Coincidentally, Michelle also discovered that the stomach pains she has had since childhood are due to wheat.  One of my good friends no longer has migraines since she went gluten free.   There is a lot we don’t know about the effects of all of this genetic engineering of our crops, but I’m convinced that modern wheat is a no no.

      Hope all of you are great…we’re going to be heading to Arizona right after Thanksgiving…maybe you can visit us when those cold winds hit northern Ohio. We’ll be there until April.

      Ricki

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 6,156 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

