Alley Oop Zucchini

Growing up on a Northern Indiana vegetable farm in the 50’s, I frequently encountered what my Dad would call Alley Oop Zucchinis, those huge specimens which had gone undetected during a couple of pickings and had grown to immense proportions. They reminded him of the clubs dragged behind cartoon cavemen and thus the epithet.  We had a special Greek customer who even requested that we let a  plant go to grow these for her. She stuffed them with meats,  rice, and cheeses and baked them for  her special treat. Unfortunately we did not get her recipe.

Fast forward to our return yesterday from a lovely Michigan lake vacation with friends to find not one but two alley oop zucchinis in the garden. Now we picked zucchini last Sunday, since besides those I took to our friends house, I still had 4 left in the fridge. Somehow, these two had laid in a hidey spot and now burst forward. As you can see from the photo, these are whoppers.

I immediately googled “stuffed zucchini” and found long lists including one called “Drop Dead Delicious Stuffed Zucchini.” It sounds delicious along with the variations offered by 18 commentators, however, the first thing you do is boil the veggie whole in a pot of water. Oops, no pot large enough! I kept seeking. Cooks.com actually has 52 results for sausage stuffed zucchini, so it seems I’m not the only one with Alley Oop zucchinis. Unfortunately most called for cucumber sized zucchini.

I took the other four, some newly picked tomatoes and onion & parmesan and whipped up my Zucchhini fry, but those two alley oops continue to stare at me from the counter. I am the product of depression-era parents, so if I were to throw these away, both  would probably rise from the dead. So I’d appreciate any ideas you all have…I could attempt wheat-free zucchini bread or another casserole or start looking for cartoonists needing a prop.

Then there are the 6 generous sized yellow squash now in my crisper!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Nordmeyer
    Aug 20, 2011 @ 22:18:56

    I’ll be more than happy to take an Ally Oop zucchini so I can make some zucchini bread!

    Reply

  2. Gwenyth
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 16:28:25

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 6,156 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

